President Juichi Yamagiwa attends the 2nd Japan-UK Universities Conference for Collaboration in Research and Education Memorandum for Academic Exchange and cooperation concluded with the University of Birmingham(October 8, 2015)


A delegation from Kyoto University attended the 2nd Japan-UK Universities Conference for Collaboration in Research and Education, which was held at Keio University on October 8, 2015. The delegation was headed by President Juichi Yamagiwa and Prof. Tetsuo Sawaragi, Director of the International Center.


Over ninety delegates, including the presidents and other executives from thirty-one universities from Japan and the UK (see below for details), participated in the conference, which was held in collaboration between Keio University and the British Council. The conference aimed to provide a platform for the participants to discuss common issues in higher education and research, and explore possibilities for collaboration between academic institutions in the two countries. During the conference, President Yamagiwa gave a presentation in a session dedicated to “Japan-UK Collaboration in Research.”


After the conference, a signing ceremony was held for the conclusion of a general memorandum for academic exchange and cooperation between Kyoto University and the University of Birmingham. The ceremony was conducted in the old library building of Keio University. The agreement was signed by President Yamagiwa and Pro-Vice-Chancellor Michael Whitby of the University of Birmingham, who was visiting Japan to attend the conference. Kyoto University has been operating student exchange programs with the University of Birmingham since 2012, following the conclusion of a student exchange agreement in 2011. The new general agreement is anticipated to facilitate the development of wider cooperation between the two institutions, which will contribute to academic collaboration between Japan and the UK.


Participating Institutions


Doshisha University, Hiroshima University, Hitotsubashi University, Hokkaido University, Keio University, Kyoto University, Kyushu University, Nagoya University, Osaka University, Ritsumeikan University, Tohoku University, University of Tokyo, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, University of Tsukuba, Waseda University, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT), Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)



University of Birmingham, University of Bristol, Durham University, University of Exeter, University of Glasgow, King’s College London, University of Leeds, The University of Liverpool, London School of Economics and Political Science, Newcastle University, University of Nottingham, University of Oxford, University of Southampton, University College London, University of Warwick, University of York, The British Embassy in Tokyo, The British Consulate-General in Osaka, The Royal Society, Scottish Development International, The British Council